KTR flagged off inaugural edition of Indian Racing League in Hyderabad

International News, National News, News, Sports, Telangana News

Hyderabad: Telangana IT & Municipal Minister KTR flagged off the inaugural edition of Indian Racing League on the banks of Hussain Sagar Lake at India’s first street circuit in Hyderabad on Saturday.

The Indian Motorsports Company, Racing Promotions Pvt Ltd (RPPL) organized the event. It has brought 24 prominent foreign and Indian drivers to the country for a spectacle for racing enthusiasts over four consecutive weekends. As per the organizers, the racing league aims to give a major push to promote the motorsports segment in the country. After the next 2 rounds in Chennai, Hyderabad will host the finale on December 10th and 11th.

Six city teams are participating in Indian Racing League. They are Hyderabad Blackbirds, Speed Demons Delhi, Bangalore Speedsters, Chennai Turbo Riders, GodSpeed Kochi and Goa Aces, consisting of Indian and foreign drivers (both male and female) will compete at the state-of-the-art racing tracks in Hyderabad and Chennai during the league.

The Hyderabad Blackbirds include the city’s very own driver Anindith Reddy, with an experience of 7 years and multiple championships wins. The Hyderabad team also features renowned drivers like Neel Jani, a Swiss Indian professional Porsche factory driver, who won the 24 Hours of Le Mans in 2016, Akhil Rabindra, selected as the Aston Martin Racing Academy Driver and female F4 racing driver Lola Lovinsfosse.

Akhilesh Reddy, Director MEIL and Chairman, RPPL (Racing Promotions Pvt Ltd) said that it’s really a proud moment for the city of Hyderabad, to host the first-ever street circuit event and it’s a perfect start of taking the city on a global stage of motorsports. Telangana government has done excellent work in developing this track and we are grateful for all the support extended to us, said.

Leave a Reply