Delhi police arrested TMC MPs outside the office of ECI

National News, News

New Delhi: Delhi police arrested TMC MPs on Monday outside the office of ECI. The TMC MPs staged a dharna infront of the ECI office demanding that the Chiefs of the CBI, NIA, ED and IT department be changed.

TMC leaders said that they would continue their protest at the Mandir Marg police station, where they were taken by the police. TMC MPs were made to board a bus, which O’Brien said drove around for about an hour and a half, after which they were taken to the Mandir Marg police station.

The TMC leaders, including Derek O’Brien, Mohammed Nadimul Haque, Dola Sen, Saket Gokhale, Sagarika Ghose, MLA Vivek Gupta, former MPs Arpita Ghosh, Santanu Sen and Abir Ranjan Biswas and the TMC West Bengal students’ wing vice-president Sudip Raha, went to the EC office at around 4 pm.

The Delhi Police said that the TMC leaders have been released. However, the TMC leaders maintained that they will remain in the police station through the night and continue their protest.

The TMC MPs alleged that the ED, CBI, NIA and IT department Chief are acting at the behest of the ruling BJP at the Centre. The leaders were asked to disperse by the police, but as they continued their protest, the security personnel forcibly evicted them and detained them. All women protesters were allowed to leave before the sunset. The male protesters were released at 9 pm, said police sources.

An 11-member delegation led by Abhishek Banerjee in Kolkata went to the Governor’s house around 9 pm to lodge a complaint against the detention of the TMC leaders in the Delhi. The AITC delegation went to meet the full bench of the EC with demands that were already shared with the media. Five of the 10 AITC leaders were MPs.

Leave a Reply